This is the "Home" page of the "Veterinary Technology Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Veterinary Technology Research Guide  

Last Updated: Jun 30, 2017 URL: http://libguides.pierce.ctc.edu/vettech Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference

Reference materials help you find background information on a topic, and are a great place to begin your research.

Books & Videos

Books about veterinary technology will have call numbers that begin with Sf. This video will help you find books on the shelves that are organized by the Library of Congress classification system.

Articles

These databases help you find articles from newspapers, magazines, professional and trade publications, and scholarly journals.

  • ProQuest Research Library: Health & Medicine
    This subset of the ProQuest Research Library covers medical science, nursing, allied health, public health and pharmacology.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
  • ProQuest Research Library
    This database includes more than 4,730 titles - over 3,315 in full text - from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers from a wide range of popular academic subjects.
  • PubMed Central
    A full-text portion of the overall PubMed (Medline) database, an index of articles from over 4,000 journals on health sciences, including medicine, veterinary science, dentistry, and nursing.
  • Google Scholar
    Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
  • Family Health
    This database includes articles important general medical journals such as The Lancet, The New England Journal of Medicine, and The Journal of Dentistry as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.
  • Health Source: Consumer Edition
    This collection contains 80 consumer health magazines, health-related pamphlets and health reference books on topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, and women's health.
  • CINAHL Plus with Full Text
    This comprehensive nursing & allied health research database provides full text for more than 770 journals, as well as books and evidenced-based care sheets.
  • Public Library of Science (PLoS)
    This open-access online only journal from the Public Library of Science publishes peer-reviewed articles in science and medicine. Freely available on the web.
  • MEDLINE
    Search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. No full-text articles.
  • Science Full Text Select
    Provides 100% full-text access to hundreds of science periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed.
  • How do I find articles using library databases?  Icon
  • View a complete list of databases

Websites

Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!

 

Veterinary technician with dog

image from Fotolia

Course Guides

These guides are designed for a specific course.

Get Help

Choose an option below for one-on-one help with a librarian.

  • In Person
    Fort Steilacoom reference desk: 8am-8pm M-Th, 8am-2pm Fri
    Puyallup reference desk: 8am-9pm M-Th; 8am-2pm Fri
  • By Phone
    Fort Steilacoom: 253-964-6555
    Puyallup: 253-840-8302
  • Chat with a Librarian
    Using our instant messaging service, 24/7!
  • By email
    Receive a response within one business day during normal business hours.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip