Last Updated: Oct 24, 2016
Reference materials help you find background information on a topic, and are a great place to begin your research.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
More than 90,000 reference articles from subject-specific encyclopedias across all major disciplines.
- DSM Premium
This database features the full-text of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5) and American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines.
- Salem Health
Authoritative reference articles covering general medicine, cancer, complementary and alternative medicine, genetics, infectious diseases and conditions, and psychology and mental health.
- Gale Biography In Context
Search for people by name, occupation and other criteria. Also includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals.
- How do I use the Gale Virtual Reference Library?
Books about psychology will have call numbers that begin with BF. This video will help you find books on the shelves that are organized by the Library of Congress classification system.
These databases help you find articles from newspapers, magazines, professional and trade publications, and scholarly journals.
Publishes full-text articles from academic, research and practice literature in psychology and related disciplines.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
This comprehensive database covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
- ProQuest Research Library: Social Sciences
This subset of the ProQuest Research Library covers sociology, psychology, communications, political science, linguistics, criminology, and education.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a digital archive of hundreds of academic journals and other scholarly content.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- How do I find articles using library databases?
- View a complete list of databases
Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!
image from Microsoft Office images
These guides are designed for a specific course.
These links provide information to important questions.
Choose an option below for one-on-one help with a librarian.
- In Person
Fort Steilacoom reference desk: 8am-8pm M-Th, 8am-2pm Fri
Puyallup reference desk: 8am-9pm M-Th; 8am-2pm Fri
- By Phone
Fort Steilacoom: 253-964-6555
- Chat with a Librarian
Using our instant messaging service, 24/7!
- By email
Receive a response within one business day during normal business hours.