Last Updated: Oct 24, 2016
Reference materials help you find background information on a topic, and are a great place to begin your research.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
More than 90,000 reference articles from subject-specific encyclopedias across all major disciplines.
- American Government
This reference database examines the foundations of our government and political system with overview essays on a variety of topics and peer-reviewed essays about complex questions.
- CQ Researcher
In-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues,including health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
- How do I use the Gale Virtual Reference Library?
Books about political science will have call numbers that begin with J. This video will help you find books on the shelves that are organized by the Library of Congress classification system.
These databases help you find articles from newspapers, magazines, professional and trade publications, and scholarly journals.
- ProQuest Research Library: Social Sciences
This subset of the ProQuest Research Library covers sociology, psychology, communications, political science, linguistics, criminology, and education.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- National Newspapers Core
Search for articles from the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post and Christian Science Monitor.
- Military & Government Collection
Designed to offer current news pertaining to all branches of the military and government, this database offers a thorough collection of more than 300 periodicals.
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Features pro and con viewpoint articles, periodical articles, primary source documents, statistics, and multimedia.
- Legal Collection
Offers information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and more from more than 300 scholarly law journals.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a digital archive of hundreds of academic journals and other scholarly content.
- Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- How do I find articles using library databases?
- View a complete list of databases
Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!
- First Read
First Read is an analysis of the day's political news, from the NBC News political unit, and is updated throughout the day.
- The Fix
Daily political blog written by Chris Cillizza of the Washington Post.
- Internet Public Library: Law, Government, and Political Science
This collection of websites, selected by librarians, covers government, history, law, law enforcement, and political science.
This website “monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases”. You can search the website by key terms, browse through the featured articles, and browse through the questions other people have asked. You can search the archives by month/year (2003 to current), section, and tag (someone’s name or topic).
- Open Congress
“OpenCongress brings together official government data with news coverage, blog posts, public comments, and more to give you the real story behind what's happening in Congress”. The site provides information on bills, senators, representatives, votes, issues, committees, and the money trail. The site also provides a way to write letters to US senators.
"POLITICO launched in January 2007 with the mission of covering the politics of Capitol Hill and of the presidential campaign, and the business of Washington lobbying and advocacy with enterprise, style, and impact."
- U.S. Department of State
Information about the department, its officials, and foreign affairs activities; also webpages for regular and special programs, consulates, and materials about other countries.
- Click Here!
For more websites on political news, data, facts, departments & groups.
- How do I evaluate websites?
image from Microsoft Office images
These guides are designed for a specific course.
These links provide information to important questions.
Choose an option below for one-on-one help with a librarian.
- In Person
Fort Steilacoom reference desk: 8am-8pm M-Th, 8am-2pm Fri
Puyallup reference desk: 8am-9pm M-Th; 8am-2pm Fri
- By Phone
Fort Steilacoom: 253-964-6555
- Chat with a Librarian
Using our instant messaging service, 24/7!
- By email
Receive a response within one business day during normal business hours.