Last Updated: Oct 24, 2016
Reference materials help you find background information on a topic, and are a great place to begin your research.
Books about oceanography will have call numbers that begin with GC. This video will help you find books on the shelves that are organized by the Library of Congress classification system.
These databases help you find articles from newspapers, magazines, professional and trade publications, and scholarly journals.
- Science Full Text Select
Provides 100% full-text access to hundreds of science periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed.
- Science Online
The Science family of journals is published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s oldest and largest general science organization. Online access to Science (1997-current issue) and ScienceNOW.
- ProQuest Research Library: Science & Technology
This subset of the ProQuest Research Library covers agriculture, biology, chemistry, environmental science, materials science, computing and engineering.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- Public Library of Science (PLoS)
This open-access online only journal from the Public Library of Science publishes peer-reviewed articles in science and medicine. Freely available on the web.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a digital archive of hundreds of academic journals and other scholarly content.
- How do I find articles using library databases?
- View a complete list of databases
Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!
- How do I evaluate websites?
- Internet Public Library: Oceanography and Hydrology
This collection of websites, selected by librarians, covers oceanography and hydrology.
- NOAA: National Oceanographic Data Center (NODC)
This site provides oceanographic data, graphs, & photos. The website is also searchable by topic (Temperature, ocean currents, waves, nutrients, chlorophyll, pH, salinity, sea level, Oxygen, plankton, & biology data).
- National Ocean Service
This site is a subdivision of NOAA that provides nautical charts, information on tides & currents, podcasts, information on the state of the coasts, ocean facts and images. There are also links to the NOAA weather and fisheries, and the Storm Prediction Center.
- University of Washington's School of Oceanography Magazine: OceanCurrents
This website is a magazine that the University of Washington’s School of Oceanography publishes called OceanCurrents. It is free to access and provides articles about projects and topics in oceanography. Current issues are available by clicking on “Archive” at the bottom of the main page and from there you can search by keyword.
- NASA Oceanography
This site provides data on different oceanography aspects (physical ocean , living ocean, and ocean & earth systems). It also provides links and recommendations to learning resources that NASA sponsors.
- The Official Magazine of the Oceanographic Society: Oceanography
This is a free online magazine that “Contains peer-reviewed articles that chronicle all aspects of ocean science and its applications. In addition, Oceanography solicits and publishes news and information, meeting reports, book reviews, and shorter, editor-reviewed articles that address public policy and education and how they are affected by science and technology.” You can use the Google search bar near the top of the left side to look through archived issues for articles on your topic.
- Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution (WHOI)
“Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution is the world's largest private, non-profit oceanographic research institution and a global leader in the study and exploration of the ocean” (as stated on their home page). The site provides information on several topics such as climate & ocean, coastal science, hazards, ocean chemistry, ocean circulation, ocean life, ocean resources, polar research, pollution, seafloor & below, tools & technology, and underwater archaeology.
- Bureau of Ocean Energy Management (BOEM)
“BOEM manages the exploration and development of the nation's offshore resources”. The website provides information about regulations, environmental stewardship, renewable energy programs, and oil & gas energy programs. It has a free online publication of Ocean Science. The site also provides the bureau’s press releases, speeches, congressional testimony, and offshore stats & facts.
- Scripps Institution of Oceanography: Seeking the Science of the Garbage Patch
This website provides information about the Scripps Environmental Accumulation of Plastic Expedition (SEAPLEX) mission. It also provides articles, news releases, blog entries from the institution on the garbage patch.
- Cascadia Research Collective
They are a non-profit, tax-exempt scientific and education organization based in Olympia, Washington, USA. They were founded in 1979 primarily to conduct research needed to manage and protect threatened marine mammals. The website contains information on the organization themselves and their current projects.
- NOAA: Marine Debris
This website provides information on the impacts, types, sources, and movement of marine debris including: garbage patches, plastic marine debris, Japan tsunami marine debris, and marine debris facts. The website also provides information on what you can do.
image from istockphoto
These guides are designed for a specific course.
These links provide information to important questions.
Choose an option below for one-on-one help with a librarian.
- In Person
Fort Steilacoom reference desk: 8am-8pm M-Th, 8am-2pm Fri
Puyallup reference desk: 8am-9pm M-Th; 8am-2pm Fri
- By Phone
Fort Steilacoom: 253-964-6555
- Chat with a Librarian
Using our instant messaging service, 24/7!
- By email
Receive a response within one business day during normal business hours.