Last Updated: Jun 22, 2017
Reference materials help you find background information on a topic, and are a great place to begin your research.
Reference articles, biographies and media from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
- JAMA Network
JAMA is the most widely circulated medical journal in the world. The Network includes nine specialty journals on the future of medicine.
- Lexicomp Online - Nursing
A real-time collection of clinical databases and clinical decision support tools that provides users with an extensive medical library.
- Salem Health
Authoritative reference articles covering general medicine, cancer, complementary and alternative medicine, genetics, infectious diseases and conditions, and psychology and mental health.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
More than 90,000 reference articles from subject-specific encyclopedias across all major disciplines.
- How do I use the Gale Virtual Reference Library?
Books about nursing will have call numbers that begin with RT. This video will help you find books on the shelves that are organized by the Library of Congress classification system.
These databases help you find articles from newspapers, magazines, professional and trade publications, and scholarly journals.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
This comprehensive nursing & allied health research database provides full text for more than 770 journals, as well as books and evidenced-based care sheets.
- Family Health
This database includes articles important general medical journals such as The Lancet, The New England Journal of Medicine, and The Journal of Dentistry as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
Access the full-text of more than 500 journals, most of which are peer-reviewed, in the nursing and medical fields.
- ProQuest Research Library: Health & Medicine
This subset of the ProQuest Research Library covers medical science, nursing, allied health, public health and pharmacology.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition
This collection contains 80 consumer health magazines, health-related pamphlets and health reference books on topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, and women's health.
- Public Library of Science (PLoS)
This open-access online only journal from the Public Library of Science publishes peer-reviewed articles in science and medicine. Freely available on the web.
Search citations from over 4,800 current biomedical journals covering medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences. No full-text articles.
- Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- PubMed Central
A full-text portion of the overall PubMed (Medline) database, an index of articles from over 4,000 journals on health sciences, including medicine, veterinary science, dentistry, and nursing.
- Science Full Text Select
Provides 100% full-text access to hundreds of science periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed.
- How do I find articles using library databases?
- View a complete list of databases
Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!
- Internet Public Library: Nursing
This collection of websites, selected by librarians, covers nursing.
Produced by the National Library of Medicine, the world’s largest medical library, it brings you information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues in language you can understand. MedlinePlus offers reliable, up-to-date health information, anytime, anywhere, for free.
- How do I evaluate websites?
image from Microsoft images
These guides are designed for a specific course.
These links provide information to important questions.
Choose an option below for one-on-one help with a librarian.
- In Person
Fort Steilacoom reference desk: 8am-8pm M-Th, 8am-2pm Fri
Puyallup reference desk: 8am-9pm M-Th; 8am-2pm Fri
- By Phone
Fort Steilacoom: 253-964-6555
- Chat with a Librarian
Using our instant messaging service, 24/7!
- By email
Receive a response within one business day during normal business hours.