This is the "Home" page of the "Mathematics Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mathematics Research Guide  

Last Updated: Oct 24, 2016 URL: http://libguides.pierce.ctc.edu/mathematics Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference

Reference materials help you find background information on a topic, and are a great place to begin your research.

Books & Videos

Books about mathematics will have call numbers that begin with QA. This video will help you find books on the shelves that are organized by the Library of Congress classification system.

Articles

These databases help you find articles from newspapers, magazines, professional and trade publications, and scholarly journals.

  • Science Full Text Select
    Provides 100% full-text access to hundreds of science periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed.
  • ProQuest Research Library: Science & Technology
    This subset of the ProQuest Research Library covers agriculture, biology, chemistry, environmental science, materials science, computing and engineering.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
  • Google Scholar
    Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
  • Public Library of Science (PLoS)
    This open-access online only journal from the Public Library of Science publishes peer-reviewed articles in science and medicine. Freely available on the web.
  • JSTOR Arts & Sciences
    JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a digital archive of hundreds of academic journals and other scholarly content.
  • How do I find articles using library databases?  Icon
  • View a complete list of databases

Websites

Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!

 

Pencil and math equation

image from istockphoto

Course Guides

These guides are designed for a specific course.

Get Help

Choose an option below for one-on-one help with a librarian.

  • In Person
    Fort Steilacoom reference desk: 8am-8pm M-Th, 8am-2pm Fri
    Puyallup reference desk: 8am-9pm M-Th; 8am-2pm Fri
  • By Phone
    Fort Steilacoom: 253-964-6555
    Puyallup: 253-840-8302
  • Chat with a Librarian
    Using our instant messaging service, 24/7!
  • By email
    Receive a response within one business day during normal business hours.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip