This is the "Home" page of the "English (Literature) Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

English (Literature) Research Guide  

Last Updated: Jun 23, 2017 URL: http://libguides.pierce.ctc.edu/literature Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference

Reference materials help you find background information on a topic, and are a great place to begin your research.

Books & Videos

Books about literature will have call numbers that begin with P, especially PN, PR and PS. This video will help you find books on the shelves that are organized by the Library of Congress classification system.

Articles

These databases help you find articles from newspapers, magazines, professional and trade publications, and scholarly journals.

  • Literature Resource Center
    Provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers.
  • JSTOR Arts & Sciences
    JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a digital archive of hundreds of academic journals and other scholarly content.
  • ProQuest Research Library: Literature & Language
    This subset of the ProQuest Research Library covers English, American literature, world Literatures and linguistics.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
  • Google Scholar
    Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
  • The Yale Review  Icon
    The nation's oldest literary quarterly.
  • How do I find articles using library databases?  Icon
  • View a complete list of databases

Websites

Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!

 

Reading a book in the library

image from iStockphoto

Get Help

  • In Person
    Fort Steilacoom reference desk: 8am-8pm M-Th, 8am-2pm Fri
    Puyallup reference desk: 8am-9pm M-Th; 8am-2pm Fri
  • By Phone
    Fort Steilacoom: 253-964-6555
    Puyallup: 253-840-8302
  • Chat with a Librarian
    Using our instant messaging service, 24/7!
  • By email
    Receive a response within one business day during normal business hours.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip