Last Updated: Jul 24, 2017
Reference materials help you find background information on a topic, and are a great place to begin your research.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
More than 90,000 reference articles from subject-specific encyclopedias across all major disciplines.
Cultural reports for more than 200 countries, including categories such as land and climate, history, economy, education, health, and events and trends.
- Latino American Experience
This reference database explores the rich heritage and current culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Dominicans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic cultures in the United States with overview essays on a variety of topics and peer-reviewed essays about complex questions.
- How do I use the Gale Virtual Reference Library?
Books about language interpreting and foreign languages will have call numbers that begin with P. This video will help you find books on the shelves that are organized by the Library of Congress classification system.
These databases help you find articles from newspapers, magazines, professional and trade publications, and scholarly journals.
- Vocational & Career Collection
Provides full-text coverage for more than 330 trade and industry related periodicals.
- ProQuest Research Library: Literature & Language
This subset of the ProQuest Research Library covers English, American literature, world Literatures and linguistics.
- Fuente Academica
This collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain covers all major subject areas with particular emphasis on agriculture, biological sciences, economics, history, law, literature, philosophy, psychology, public administration, religion and sociology. Articles in Spanish or Portugese.
This collection of medical research and investigatory journals from renowned Latin American and Spanish publishers covers topics including including neuroscience, cardiology, nephrology, biomedicine, clinical research, pediatrics, human reproduction, clinical pathology, cancer research, and hematology. Articles in Spanish.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a digital archive of hundreds of academic journals and other scholarly content.
- Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- How do I find articles using library databases?
- View a complete list of databases
Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!
image from iStockphoto
These guides are designed for a specific course.
These links provide information to important questions.
- In Person
Fort Steilacoom reference desk: 8am-8pm M-Th, 8am-2pm Fri
Puyallup reference desk: 8am-9pm M-Th; 8am-2pm Fri
- By Phone
Fort Steilacoom: 253-964-6555
- Chat with a Librarian
Using our instant messaging service, 24/7!
- By email
Receive a response within one business day during normal business hours.