Last Updated: Oct 24, 2016
Reference materials help you find background information on a topic, and are a great place to begin your research.
Books about journalism will have call numbers that begin with PN. This video will help you find books on the shelves that are organized by the Library of Congress classification system.
These databases help you find articles from newspapers, magazines, professional and trade publications, and scholarly journals.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a digital archive of hundreds of academic journals and other scholarly content.
- ProQuest Research Library: Literature & Language
This subset of the ProQuest Research Library covers English, American literature, world Literatures and linguistics.
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Features pro and con viewpoint articles, periodical articles, primary source documents, statistics, and multimedia.
- Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- How do I find articles using library databases?
- View a complete list of databases
Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!
- Internet Public Library
This collection of websites, selected by librarians, covers all subjects. Do a keyword search on "journalism" for relevant websites.
This website “monitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases”. You can search the website by key terms, browse through the featured articles, and browse through the questions other people have asked. You can search the archives by month/year (2003 to current), section, and tag (someone’s name or topic).
- State of the News Media
An annual report on the health and status of American journalism by the Pew Research Center's Project for Excellence in Journalism. The site Includes statistics for various media. You can read reports from other years by clicking on the ‘View Previous Reports’ link in the upper right hand corner of the page.
This website provides information on facts that select politicians state. The site rates what is said by varying degrees of true or false and provides articles explaining the fact. You can search by national or state topics, do keyword searches for articles, search by true or false statements (the Truth-O-Meter), or search by people. This site also tracks the promises that the president and the GOP has made and pundit statements.
- The Center for Media and Democracy’s PR Watch
A non-profit investigative reporting group. They focus on reporting, analyzing, and exposing corporate spin and government propaganda. You can search the latest news, search by keyword, or look at reports done by specific authors.
- The First Amendment Handbook
This website provides legal assistance to journalists. It provides information on 10 different topics. Libel, invasion of privacy, surreptitious recording, confidential sources and information, prior restraints, gag orders, access to courts, access to places, freedom of information acts, and copyright.
- Media & Ethics
This site is a PDF document about media & ethics in journalism in the United States. The document is put out by the U.S. Department of State. The document provides a bibliography and a list of internet sites on media organizations and journalist groups.
- National Public Radio (NPR)
This site provides news articles, photos, radio broadcasts. You can search the site for a specific topic or can browse the website.
- Society of Professional Journalists: Code of Ethics
This website provides the code of ethics that SPJ uses.
- New York Times: Policy on Ethics in Journalism
This website provides the details of the NYT’s policy on ethics. You can scroll down the page to find what you want, or you can click on one of the headings at the top of the page.
- How do I evaluate websites?
image from Microsoft Office Images
These guides are designed for a specific course.
These links provide information to important questions.
- In Person
Fort Steilacoom reference desk: 8am-8pm M-Th, 8am-2pm Fri
Puyallup reference desk: 8am-9pm M-Th; 8am-2pm Fri
- By Phone
Fort Steilacoom: 253-964-6555
- Chat with a Librarian
Using our instant messaging service, 24/7!
- By email
Receive a response within one business day during normal business hours.