Last Updated: Jun 30, 2017
Reference materials help you find background information on a topic, and are a great place to begin your research.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
More than 90,000 reference articles from subject-specific encyclopedias across all major disciplines.
- Oxford Art Online
Features articles, biographies, images, timelines of world art, and access to the full-text of leading art encyclopedias.
- Naxos Music Library
Contains full musical recordings from over 7,000 composers and 15,000 CDs from multiple genres.
- African American Experience
This reference database covers the experiences of African Americans from their arrival in the Americas through to the present day, including history, biographies, literature, arts, music, popular culture, folklore, business, slavery, the struggle for civil rights, politics, sports, education, science, and other themes with overview essays on a variety of topics and peer-reviewed essays about complex questions.
- Latino American Experience
This reference database explores the rich heritage and current culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Dominicans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic cultures in the United States with overview essays on a variety of topics and peer-reviewed essays about complex questions.
- American Indian Experience
This reference database provides in-depth historical accounts and cultural information about the indigenous peoples of North America with overview essays on a variety of topics and peer-reviewed essays about complex questions.
- Daily Life through History
This reference database is a cross-disciplinary resource for researching historical topics such as American food and cooking, celebrations, clothes, romance, work, religion, housing, language, and social customs.
- Pop Culture Universe
This reference database features overview essays on major events and trends in pop culture from the 1900s to the present and peer-reviewed essays that answer today's most complex questions.
- Gale Biography In Context
Search for people by name, occupation and other criteria. Also includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals.
- How do I use the Gale Virtual Reference Library?
Books about the humanities will have a range of call numbers. Art begins with N; music begins with M; literature begins with P; photography begins with TR. This video will help you find books on the shelves that are organized by the Library of Congress classification system.
These databases help you find articles from newspapers, magazines, professional and trade publications, and scholarly journals.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- ProQuest Research Library: The Arts
This subset of the ProQuest Research Library covers music, theatre, film, TV, dance, architecture, art and design.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a digital archive of hundreds of academic journals and other scholarly content.
- Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- How do I find articles using library databases?
- View a complete list of databases
image from Microsoft images
Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!
These guides are designed for a specific course.
These links provide information to important questions.
- In Person
Fort Steilacoom reference desk: 8am-8pm M-Th, 8am-2pm Fri
Puyallup reference desk: 8am-9pm M-Th; 8am-2pm Fri
- By Phone
Fort Steilacoom: 253-964-6555
- Chat with a Librarian
Using our instant messaging service, 24/7!
- By email
Receive a response within one business day during normal business hours.