Last Updated: Jun 23, 2017
Reference materials help you find background information on a topic, and are a great place to begin your research.
- Salem History
Authoritative reference articles covering American decades, great lives and events from history, and primary source documents.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
More than 90,000 reference articles from subject-specific encyclopedias across all major disciplines.
- American History
This reference database investigates the people, events, and stories of our nation's evolution with overview essays on a variety of topics and peer-reviewed scholarly essays about complex quandries.
- Daily Life through History
This reference database is a cross-disciplinary resource for researching historical topics such as American food and cooking, celebrations, clothes, romance, work, religion, housing, language, and social customs.
- World at War: Understanding Conflict and Society
This reference database provides complete overviews of 27 wars, with timelines, causes and consequences, portraits of opponents, and links to supporting facts, figures, primary sources, and audiovisual content.
- World History: Ancient and Medieval Eras
This reference database covers early human history around the globe—from prehistoric times to the beginnings of the Renaissance with authoritative entries on topics and peer-reviewed essays by accomplished scholars.
- World History: The Modern Era
This reference database covers the modern history of the world from 1500 to the present with authoritative entries on topics and peer-reviewed essays by accomplished scholars.
- African American Experience
This reference database covers the experiences of African Americans from their arrival in the Americas through to the present day, including history, biographies, literature, arts, music, popular culture, folklore, business, slavery, the struggle for civil rights, politics, sports, education, science, and other themes with overview essays on a variety of topics and peer-reviewed essays about complex questions.
- American Indian Experience
This reference database provides in-depth historical accounts and cultural information about the indigenous peoples of North America with overview essays on a variety of topics and peer-reviewed essays about complex questions.
- Latino American Experience
This reference database explores the rich heritage and current culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Dominicans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic cultures in the United States with overview essays on a variety of topics and peer-reviewed essays about complex questions.
- World Geography: Understanding a Changing World
This reference database provides essential knowledge of the geographical, political, social, economic, and cultural forces that are increasingly important in our globalized world with overviews of each nation and the ability to make demographic comparisons between countries.
- Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society
This reference database provides in-depth understanding of how society shapes and is shaped by controversy, providing authoritative historical context, expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources on 200 of today's most important issues.
- How do I use the Gale Virtual Reference Library?
Books about world history will have call numbers that begin with D; for U.S. history, E; for local history, F. This video will help you find books on the shelves that are organized by the Library of Congress classification system.
Article databases help you find articles from newspapers, magazines, professional and trade publications, and scholarly journals.
- Gale U.S. History In Context
Contains reference sources, primary documents and articles from academic journals covering U.S. history from pre-colonial times to the present.
- Gale World History In Context
Contains reference sources, primary documents and articles from academic journals featuring extensive coverage of world history from antiquity to the present.
- ProQuest Research Library: History
This subset of the ProQuest Research Library covers civilizations, historical studies, military history, periods & events, U.S. history and world history.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a digital archive of hundreds of academic journals and other scholarly content.
- Gale Biography In Context
Search for people by name, occupation and other criteria. Also includes full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals.
- Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- How do I find articles using library databases?
- View a complete list of databases
image from Microsoft Office images
Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!
- Internet Public Library: History
This collection of websites, selected by librarians, covers history. Find websites organized by era, region, or topic.
Since 1983, FRONTLINE has served as American public television’s flagship public affairs series with incisive documentaries covering the scope and complexity of the human experience.
- How do I evaluate websites?
These guides are designed for a specific course.
These links provide information to important questions.
Choose an option below for one-on-one help with a librarian.
- In Person
Puyallup reference desk: 8am-9pm M-Th; 8am-2pm Fri
Fort Steilacoom reference desk: 8am-9pm M-Th, 8am-4pm Fri
- By Phone
Fort Steilacoom: 253-964-6555
- Chat with a Librarian
Instant messaging 24/7 with librarians all over the USA
- By email
Receive a response within one business day during normal business hours.