Last Updated: Jun 30, 2017
Reference materials help you find background information on a topic, and are a great place to begin your research.
Books about environmental science will have call numbers that begin with GE or QC. This video will help you find books on the shelves that are organized by the Library of Congress classification system.
These databases help you find articles from newspapers, magazines, professional and trade publications, and scholarly journals.
- Science Full Text Select
Provides 100% full-text access to hundreds of science periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed.
- Science Online
The Science family of journals is published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s oldest and largest general science organization. Online access to Science (1997-current issue) and ScienceNOW.
- ProQuest Research Library: Science & Technology
This subset of the ProQuest Research Library covers agriculture, biology, chemistry, environmental science, materials science, computing and engineering.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- Public Library of Science (PLoS)
This open-access online only journal from the Public Library of Science publishes peer-reviewed articles in science and medicine. Freely available on the web.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a digital archive of hundreds of academic journals and other scholarly content.
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Features pro and con viewpoint articles, periodical articles, primary source documents, statistics, and multimedia.
- How do I find articles using library databases?
- View a complete list of databases
Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!
- Internet Public Library: Environmental Sciences and Ecology
This collection of websites, selected by librarians, covers environmental sciences and ecology, including forestry.
- Environmental Protection Agency
Topics on this site are searchable by state, topic, or by where you live (address, zip code, city, or name of place). The EPA cover topic on: air, climate change, emergencies, green living, health and safety, land cleanup, pesticides, chemicals, toxins, wastes, and water. The website also provides information about the science & technology that the EPA uses to conduct their research. You can also find information on laws, regulations, and what the EPA itself is about.
- Department of Ecology: WA State
This site Provides information on the water, air, waste, cleanup, toxic hazards and green living in Washington State. It also site provides searchable databases. You can also find information about the laws and rules in Washington State and search for publications and forms by topic.
This is a separate site that is overlooked by NOAA. This site provides NOAA’s ClimateWatch Magazine, which is fully searchable. It also provides information climate data, services, and understanding climate. There are lots of photos, maps and charts available in the articles.
- U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service: Endangered Species Program
You can search for endangered species by state, common or scientific name and/or by country. There is also an interactive map of which you can choose which state look for species in. Site also provides information on what the ESP does, information for landowners, permits, grants, laws & policies, and a place for kids to learn about endangered species.
- Click Here!
For more environmental websites about climate, animals, oceans, ozone…etc.
- How do I evaluate websites?
image from istockphoto
These guides are designed for a specific course.
These links provide information to important questions.
Choose an option below for one-on-one help with a librarian.
- In Person
Fort Steilacoom reference desk: 8am-8pm M-Th, 8am-2pm Fri
Puyallup reference desk: 8am-9pm M-Th; 8am-2pm Fri
- By Phone
Fort Steilacoom: 253-964-6555
- Chat with a Librarian
Using our instant messaging service, 24/7!
- By email
Receive a response within one business day during normal business hours.