Last Updated: Jun 30, 2017
Reference materials help you find background information on a topic, and are a great place to begin your research.
Books about education will have call numbers that begin with L. This video will help you find books on the shelves that are organized by the Library of Congress classification system.
These databases help you find articles from newspapers, magazines, professional and trade publications, and scholarly journals.
- ProQuest Research Library: Social Sciences
This subset of the ProQuest Research Library covers sociology, psychology, communications, political science, linguistics, criminology, and education.
Index to articles from education journals through the Educational Resource Information Center. Some full-text articles.
- Professional Development Collection
Includes full text for more than 520 high-quality education journals and nearly 230 educational reports.
- Teacher Reference Center
TRC provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals covering assessment, best practices, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, school administration, science & mathematics, and teacher education. No full-text articles.
- Vocational & Career Collection
Provides full-text coverage for more than 330 trade and industry related periodicals.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a digital archive of hundreds of academic journals and other scholarly content.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- How do I find articles using library databases?
- View a complete list of databases
Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!
image from Microsoft image
These guides are designed for a specific course.
These links provide information to important questions.
Choose an option below for one-on-one help with a librarian.
- In Person
Fort Steilacoom reference desk: 8am-8pm M-Th, 8am-2pm Fri
Puyallup reference desk: 8am-9pm M-Th; 8am-2pm Fri
- By Phone
Fort Steilacoom: 253-964-6555
- Chat with a Librarian
Using our instant messaging service, 24/7!
- By email
Receive a response within one business day during normal business hours.