Last Updated: Jan 3, 2017
Reference materials help you find background information on a topic, and are a great place to begin your research.
Books about education have call numbers that begin with L. This video will help you find books on the shelves that are organized by the Library of Congress classification system.
- Ebrary Community College Collection
More than 25,000 electronic books covering all subject areas. Can browse by table of contents and read selected pages and/or chapters.
Videatives make general principles of child development and early education come to life through integrated text and video segments.
- Films on Demand
Choose from thousands of educational titles and watch them online, 24/7. Special features allow users the ability to bookmark clips, share playlists and personalize folders.
- How do I use ebrary
- New books in the library
These databases help you find articles from newspapers, magazines, professional and trade publications, and scholarly journals.
- ProQuest Research Library: Social Sciences
This subset of the ProQuest Research Library covers sociology, psychology, communications, political science, linguistics, criminology, and education.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- Child Development
Published on behalf of the Society for Research in Child Development.
- Professional Development Collection
Includes full text for more than 520 high-quality education journals and nearly 230 educational reports.
- Vocational & Career Collection
Provides full-text coverage for more than 330 trade and industry related periodicals.
- Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a digital archive of hundreds of academic journals and other scholarly content.
- Teacher Reference Center
TRC provides indexing and abstracts for 280 periodicals covering assessment, best practices, continuing education, current pedagogical research, curriculum development, elementary education, higher education, instructional media, language arts, literacy standards, school administration, science & mathematics, and teacher education. No full-text articles.
Index to articles from education journals through the Educational Resource Information Center. Some full-text articles.
- How do I find articles using library databases?
- View a complete list of databases
Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!
- Earlychildhood NEWS
Earlychildhood NEWS features articles about child development, developmentally appropriate practices, health and safety, behavior and guidance, assessment and much more.
ERIC - the Education Resources Information Center - is an online digital library of education research and information. ERIC is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education.
- Head Start
Head Start is a federal program that promotes the school readiness of children ages birth to five from low-income families by enhancing their cognitive, social, and emotional development.
- Internet Public Library: Early Childhood and Pre-School
This collection of websites, selected by librarians, covers early childhood and pre-school education.
Founded in 1926, The National Association for the Education of Young Children (NAEYC) is the world's largest organization working on behalf of young children
NECTAC is the national early childhood technical assistance center supported by the U.S. Department of Education's Office of Special Education Programs (OSEP)
The mission of the National Head Start Association is to coalesce, inspire and support the Head Start field as a leader in early childhood development and education.
- How do I evaluate websites?
image from iStockphoto
- ATLAS: Accomplished Teaching Learning and Schools
ATLAS is a unique, searchable online library of authentic videos showing National Board Certified Teachers at work in the classroom. Each video is accompanied by the teacher's written reflection about the instruction or the activity shown, and aligned to professional teaching standards. Requires account.
- Education Week
Education Week Online features daily news, commentary and analysis on policy, legislative and overall shifts and trends in the U.S. K-12 space as well as 30+ years of fully-searchable archives.
- SAGE Education Subject Collection
SAGE Education Collection covers such subjects as Early Childhood Education, Educational Administration, Educational Policy, Educational Psychology, Elementary and Primary Education, Family and Community, High School and Secondary Education, Higher Education, International Education, Leadership, Multicultural Education and Diversity, Multilingual Education, Philosophy of Education, Professional Development, Research Methods and Evaluation, School Reform, Special Education and Gifted Education, Standards, Teaching and Instruction, Teaching Methods, Technology, Theory of Education, and Vocational Education.
These guides are designed for a specific course.
These links provide information to important questions.
Choose an option below for one-on-one help with a librarian.
- In Person
Fort Steilacoom reference desk: 8am-8pm M-Th, 8am-2pm Fri
Puyallup reference desk: 8am-9pm M-Th; 8am-2pm Fri
- By Phone
Fort Steilacoom: 253-964-6555
- Chat with a Librarian
Using our instant messaging service, 24/7!
- By email
Receive a response within one business day during normal business hours.