Last Updated: Jul 5, 2017
- U.S. Geological Survey
This site is the United States Geological Survey’s main page. Here you can find out information on climate, land use change, core science systems, ecosystems, energy, minerals, environmental health, natural hazards, water, and more. You can start your search using the topics on the left side of the page, browse around the site, or you can use the search box and search by keyword.
- American Geoscience Institute
This website provides information on the geosciences. You can find Earth Magazine under publications. You can also find information on environmental geoscience. This website also links to the Earth Science World Image Bank. You can browse the website or search by keyword by clicking on “search” in the top right corner of page.
- Association of American State Geologists: Geological Surveys by State
This website provides links to different states geological survey websites. You can either click the state on the map or click on “other selection options” to go to a dropdown list of the states.
- NOAA: National Geophysical Data Center (NGDC)
This website provides data and images on bathymetry, global relief, earth observations from space, geomagnetic data & models, marine geology, geophysics, and natural hazards. You can browse the website or use the search box search using keywords.
This site provides information on different science topics. The site also provides links to other websites. Some of these topics include: natural resources, environment, . You can browse through the site by clicking on the topics, selecting “index” at the top, or search by keyword in the search box.
- The Why Files: The Science Behind the News
This website provides information on “the science behind the news.” They take topics from the news and provide more information about it. You can browse the website or use the search bar on the upper left side of the page.
- Digital Library for Earth System Education
This website provides information on Earth science topics. The site is searchable by keyword, resource type, collection, or grade level. For example, you could type in the term “landforms” and select the grade level “College (13-14)” and select search.
- Geology.com: Geoscience News and Information
This website provides all sorts of information on geology topics. You can browse the website, search using the search box at the top right of the page, or you can brose the categories on the left side of the page.
- Windows to the Universe: Earth
This website provides information on different geology topics such as interior/surface, minerals, rocks, layers, plates, earthquakes, volcanoes, and earth history. You can browse through the website or use the search bar at the top right of the page.
- SciTech Connect
This website provides information on science topics. You can do a keyword search or explore by subject. The site provides full text articles and is supported by the U.S. Department of Energy and other government services.
- EurekaAlert! News by Subject
This website provides news articles on Earth Science subjects. You can change Earth Science to a more specific geologic topic or you can use the search bar and search for something specific.
This website provides some articles and videos on science topics. The site is searchable by keyword.
- USGS: Natural Hazards
This site provides information on natural hazards in costal & marine geology, earthquake hazards, geomagnetism, global seismographic network, landslide hazards, volcano hazards, emergency management.
- NOAA: Natural Hazards Data, Images and Education
This website provides information on tsunamis, earthquakes, volcanoes and other natural hazards. You can browse the website or use the search bar at the top of the page to search for something specific
- University of California Museum of Paleontology: Geologic Time Scale
This website provides information on the geologic time scale. You can click on the link of one of the specific time periods to find out more information.
- Smithsonian: Geologic Time
This website provides an interactive geologic time scale. You can click on the time period you want in the time scale at the top. For the smaller time periods, zoom in until you can see the one you want to find more information on and then click on it.
- The Paleontology Portal
This website provides information on famous flora & fauna, a fossil gallery, time & space, careers, museum collections, and information/interviews with paleontologists. There is also a link that talks about what fossils are found in U.S. National Parks. You can browse the website or search by keyword using the search box at the top of the page.
- NCDC: Paleoclimatology Data
This website provides paleoclimatology data. It also describes how this kind of data is retrieved. You can browse this website or you can search by keyword in the search box at the top right of the page.
- Science Centric: Geology & Paleontology
This website provides news information on geology and palaeontology. You can browse the website, or you can do a keyword search using the search box at the top left of the page under the headings.
- USGS: Photographic Library
This website provides geological photographs on subjects such as earthquakes, mines, mills, quarries, mount St. Helens, national parks, photographers, pioneer photographers and a portrait collection. You can search through the website by browsing through the subjects, or you can do a keyword search by clicking on “Key Word Search” in the left panel.
- Earth Science World Image Bank
This website provides geoscience images. You can search the images by keyword, or you can browse by category.
- NASA: Earth Observatory
This website provides images and maps on geoscience topics such as natural hazards, atmosphere, heat, land, life, water, snow, ice, and human presence. You can search the website using the search box, or you can browse the website.
- NationalAtlas.gov: Topographic Maps
This website provides a map of the United States of which you can look at the physical features for specific areas. To view more information, click on one of the red dots on the map and then you can click on another red dot or select a feature to view.
- USGS: Selected Map Bookmarks
This website provides links to other websites that provides maps and images, data, and other information related to the geosciences.
- National Atlas.gov: Geology of the United States
This website provides information on the geology of the United States. It provides maps and articles. You can browse the website, or you can search using the search bar at the top of the page.
- The Geological Society of America
This website provides access to the Geological Society of America. On the website, you can find information about the society, publications, resources, jobs, newsroom, and the latest research. You can browse the website or use the search bar in the upper right side of the page.
image from istockphoto
- Merriam-Webster Visual Dictionary Online: Earth
This website provides colored and detailed images on earth topics. You can browse the website or you can use the Google Custom Search box to search this site.
- Encyclopedia of Earth
This website provides information on all kinds of topics about the Earth. You can browse through the website or you can search the site by keyword.
- Smithsonian Institution: Global Volcanism Program
This website provides information on recent volcano activity around the world. You can browse through the new activity / unrest or you can search the database for a specific volcano. When searching the database don’t use Mount or Mt. For example, if searching for Mount Rainier type in “Rainier” instead of “Mount Rainier” or “Mt. Rainier.”
- Michigan Technological University Volcanos Page
This website provides links to all kinds of information on volcanoes. It is by Michigan Technological University and sponsored by Keweenaw Volcano Observatory.
- National Park Geologic Resources
This website provides information on the geology of National Parks. You can browse through the website using the links on the left side of the page, or you can use the search link listed below aforementioned links.
- USGS: Geology of National Parks
This website provides images tours of the of many national parks. Click on one of the links on the left side of the page, click on one of the images, or click on “Location Map” to search for national parks on the map.
- Mineralogy Database
This website provides information and images of many different minerals. You can search the mineral image gallery by alphabet or you can search by chemical composition, Alphabetical listing, or a number of other ways to search the minerals.
- USGS: Minerals Information
This website provides information on minerals. You can take a look at the list of different minerals the site provides information on.
- Washington State Department of Natural Resources: Geology & Earth Sciences
This website provides information on geology and the earth sciences for Washington State. You can find a map, information on geologic hazards in Washington, environment, energy, mining, minerals, and other geologic information about Washington State. You can browse the website or use the search bar to search for something specific.
- Historical Geology of Washington State and Southern British Columbia
This website provides information on the historical geology of Washington State. This is the electronic format of a textbook by John Figge. The book is divided into sections by chapters of which are linked to the main page.
- Northwest Origins
This website is provided by the Burke Museum of Natural History, part of the University of Washington in Seattle. The site provides information on the origins of the Northwest geology. The main page provides general information and the headings for some sections provide links to more information on that section. The links from the headings are also found at the bottom of the page.
- Washington State GIS Data
This website is kept by the University of Washington and provides geographic information and data. It links to many government sites covering information on aerial photography, census/demographic data, elevation data, geology, hydrography, land cover/land use, transportation, WA state government agencies, counties, cities, Puget Sound Nearshore Ecosystem Restoration Project.
- BBC News: Science & Environment
This website provides news on science and environment topics. You can browse the website, or you can use the search box in the upper right hand side of the page and search for something specific.
- American Geoscience Institute: Environmental Geoscience Program
This website provides information on environmental geoscience. It provides a directory, publications, geological mapping, slide shows, and environmental issues/legislation. You can browse the website, or you can click on “Search” in the top right side of the page and then search by keyword.
Use the link below to submit a geology related website. Make sure to include why you think it should be added to the list!