Last Updated: Jul 5, 2017
- U.S. Geological Survey
This site provides information on climate, land use, ecosystems, environmental health, natural hazards, and water. You can also search the site by keyword, by an advanced search, or you can browse through the topics on the left side of the page or on the right under the “Science Topics” heading.
- USGS: Educational Videos and Animations
This website provides videos and animations on various topics such as “climate change, urban growth and land use, and volcanoes. Each video description has details such as length and format of the video (flash, YouTube, GIF, MP4...etc.).
- Wolfram Alpha
This website is a search engine. It is searchable by keyword, but try searching for simpler terms such as “geography” or “Russian population”. You can also click on “Examples” and scroll down to “Places & Geography”.
- Digital Library for Earth System Education
This website provides information on Earth science topics. The site is searchable by keyword, resource type, collection, or grade level. For example, you could type in the term “landforms” and select the grade level “College (13-14)” and select search.
- Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection
This website provides links to maps on the world, Africa, Americas, Asia, Australia/Pacific, Europe, Middle East, Polar/Oceans, Russia/Republics, U.S., Historical, Thematic, Topographic, and links to other map sites.
- Geography: About.com
This website provides information and links to geographical news stories, maps, videos, physical & cultural geography. The site also provides a section on “what is geography?”. You can “browse by topic” on the left side and part way down the page.
- National Archives: Geographical Information
This website provides links to websites on cartography, flags, gazetteers, maps (including some historical maps).
- Site Atlas
This website provides maps of countries, state, province, or U.S. Towns. The site is searchable by search bar (for U.S. only) a drop down of U.S. states, or by clicking on the map or the links below the map.
- Library of Congress: Country Studies
This website provides information on countries such as the country’s profile, history, about their society, population, family, religion, agriculture, energy, mining, manufacturing, and more.
- Global Gazetteer
This website provides maps and other information on countries around the world like latitude, longitude, altitude, temperature, cloud cover, precipitation, nearby cities/towns, nearby airports, and videos.
- Breathing Earth
This website provides CO2 emissions, birth rate & death rate simulations as well as provides links to some countries.
- One world: Nations Online
This website provides information and links to other websites that provides information on different countries. The information that is provided covers government, maps, news, culture, business, tourism, education, ecology, history, and other information. The website is searchable by keyword or by any of the headings on the left side of the page.
- The World Bank: Data Bank
This website provides data about development in countries around the world. You can search by country, topic, indicator, or by keyword in the search box.
- The Center for Land Use Interpretation
This website provides information on land use in the United States. You can use the provided map, search the database using the search box, or browse by state. It also provides information and sometimes a picture and link to another website to find out more information.
- USDA: Natural Resources
This website provides information on land use, cropland, Farmland Protection Policy Act, forestry, range & pasture resources. You can browse through the website or search using the search box at the top right of the page.
image from iStockphoto
- USGS: Volcano Hazards Program
This website provides news, images, U.S. volcano current activity alerts, and other information on volcanoes. Also provides a “photoglossary” with pictures and definitions of volcanic terms and videos.
- World Landforms
This website provides an interactive map of landforms and provides examples of real places.
- Landforms Glossary
This website provides a glossary of landforms with definitions and images.
- Glossary of Alpine Glacial Landforms
This website provides descriptive definitions and pictures of alpine glacial landforms.
- Landforms on Topographic maps
This website provides examples of landforms with images of topographic maps. Browse the list or use the topic links at the top of the page to find the section you need.
- The World Factbook
This site provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. The Reference tab includes: maps of the major world regions, as well as Flags of the World, a Physical Map of the World, a Political Map of the World, a World Oceans map, and a Standard Time Zones of the World map.
- U.S. Census Bureau: Geography – Reference
This website provides information on the centers of population, geographic boundary changes, and other statistical geographic information.
- Natural Resources Defense Council: Environmental Issues and Solutions
This website provides information on natural resources issues. The website is searchable by browsing the topics or by the search box at the top right of the page.
- House Committee on Natural Resources
This is the website for the Committee on Natural Resources. It provides news, information on subcommittees, hearings, legislation, and issues. You can browse through the website or you can search the website by clicking the magnifying glass to open the search box, where you can search by keyword.
- Washington State Department of Natural Resources
This website provides information on natural resources and Washington State. There is information on recreation & public information, business & permits, and science & environment. There are also featured topics, news, meetings & events. You can browse through the website or search by keyword using the search bar at the top right of the page or the “Advanced Search” link below the search bar.