Last Updated: Jul 5, 2017
- Science.gov: Chemistry and Chemicals
This website provides links to government websites on chemistry and chemicals topics. Links are listed alphabetically. You can also narrow the websites to other chemistry/chemicals related topics.
- The National Science Digital Library
This website provides resources on all different science topics. It is searchable by keyword. You can narrow down your search by education level, resource type, and subject.
- Wolfram Alpha
This website is a search engine that provides articles on topics which are searchable by keyword.
- WWW Virtual Library: Chemistry
This website provides links on chemistry related topics. You can either browse the headings on the left side of the page, or search by keyword in the search box in the middle of the page.
- Chemistry Central: Open Access to Chemistry
This website provides open access journals on all kinds of chemistry. The site is searchable by keyword, or you can search within a specific journal, or browse through articles.
- Links for Chemists
A listing of useful websites for chemists that includes links to chemical literature, topics in chemistry, organizations, companies, industries and university chemistry departments, with academic and business applications.
- Science Daily: Chemistry
This website provides news, articles, videos, images, and books on chemistry and chemistry related topics. You can also search this website by keyword in the search bar near the top of the page.
- American Chemical Society Publications
This website is part of the ACS website. You can use the search bar to search by keyword or subject search. You can also search the website by publications, books, C&EN Archives, and videos.
- Household Products Database
This site (by the National Institute of Health [NIH]) provides health and safety information on household products. You can search by keyword, category, product name, type of product, manufacturers, and ingredients.
- Common Compound Library
This website provides a searchable database of common compounds. You can search by compound name or formula.
- CAMEO Chemicals: Database of Hazardous Materials
This website provides information on hazardous materials. You can search the site by chemical name, CAS number, UN/NA number, an advanced search, or by browsing by letter. You can also build a list of chemicals and “view predicted reactivity between the chemicals in the collection”.
This website “is a free chemical structure database providing fast text and structure search access to over 29 million structures from hundreds of data sources.” You can search by chemical name or structure.
This website is a search engine to help facilitate the drug discovery process, eMolecules has curated data for 650,000 in-stock and verified building blocks from its supplier network. You can search by drawing a molecule or can search by chemical name, catalog number, or CAS or SMILES.
image from istockphoto
- Visual Elements Periodic Table
This website provides information about each element both when you hover over the element’s square and when you click on the element’s label. Clicking on the element’s label gives you more detailed information on the element.
- WebElements: Home of the Periodic Table
This website provides you with the periodic table which is clickable and brings you to the information about each element.
- The Periodic Table Challenge
This website provides you with a way to challenge yourself to see if you have memorized the periodic table. It can give you hints and tell you when you’ve got one wrong. You can also play a version of it that scores each element as you type and which times you and how fast you can complete it.
- American Elements
This website provides information on the elements in the periodic table. Click on one of the boxes in the table or search by keyword
- The Periodic Table of Videos
This website is a clickable periodic table that provides information about each element through a video. The website also provides videos on molecules. There is a search bar at the bottom of the page of which you can search by keyword.
- American Chemical Society
This website provides information on the ACS publications, meetings, careers, membership & networks, education, policy, funding & awards, and press room. You can also find out about the ACS, their governance, browse their store, or contact them.
- American Association for the Advancement of Science
This is the homepage of the AAAS website. You can browse the site or search it by keyword using the search box near the top left of the page.