Last Updated: Feb 25, 2014
- The Biology Project: The University of Arizona
This website provides information on biochemistry, chemistry of amino acids, cell biology, chemicals & human health, developmental biology, human biology, immunology, Mendelian genetics, and molecular biology.
- INFOMINE: Biological, Agricultural & Medical Sciences
This website provides free articles. It is searchable by keyword. Make sure to check the ‘Full Text” box and change “Resource Access” to Free.
- National Science Foundation: Biological Science News
This site provides news articles on biological science topics. You can search the site by clicking on the “Search News” link. Enter your search term(s) and make sure to click on the BIO: Directorate for Biological Sciences under NSF Organization.
- WWW Virtual Library Biosciences
This website provides links to other websites on topics such as animal health, wellbeing & rights, biotechnology, botany, developmental biology, forest genetics & tree breeding, genetics, microbiology, mycology, neurobiology, parasitology, physiology and biophysics, plant microarrays, and whales.
- Anatomy Atlases
This website provides detailed and up close pictures of anatomy from bones, ligaments, muscles, vessels, arteries, veins, the brain, nerves and more. You can search the website by keyword by clicking on the “Search” link under the website’s header.
This website provides interactive pictures of human anatomy and the different systems of the body. You browse through by system, popular body regions, or you can use the search box and look for something in specific.
- Anatomy and Physiology
This site provides websites on human anatomy, medical images, nervous system & senses, cardiovascular system, muscular system, skeletal system, and medical & health science. There is a short description provided by each link.
- Cells Alive
This website provides information and interactive models of cells. The topics that the site covers are cell biology, microbiology, immunology, and microscopy. This site also provides videos of cells.
- Interactive Concepts in Biochemistry
This website provides information on three types of cell structures (animal, plant, and prokaryotic). It is an interactive website and even has a place on the site where you can construct cells.
- Catalogue of Life
This website is a “catalogue of known species of organisms on Earth.” You can search for something in specific, or you can browse through the taxonomy tree. It provides the taxonomy, Nomenclature, taxonomic hierarchy, references, geographic information, other comments (of which could say if they are endangered) and some off-site resources. This site is viewable in 11 languages other than English.
- Animal Diversity Web
This site provides in depth information on animal. The entries may include text, pictures of living animals, photographs and movies of specimens, and/or recordings of sounds. You can browse animals by taxonomy or you can search by using the common name in the search box on the right side of the page.
- USDA Plants Database
This site provides information on plants. You can find information on specific plants by the scientific name, common name, or symbol. You can also find information on alternative crops, clover crop plants, culturally significant plants, fact sheets/plant guides, introduced/invasive/noxious plants by state, threatened/endangered plants, and wetland indicator status.
- Native Plant Database
This website provides information on plants that are native to different areas. You can search by common name, scientific name, family, or by state.
image from istockphoto
- Microbe World
This site provides news, videos, and images of and about microbes. You can either browse the site or search it by keyword using the search box at the top of the page.
- American Society for Microbiology
This website provides information about the ASM. It also has information about microbiology for the public and access to journals, images, and other formats of information on microbiology. Look under the “Science” heading for journals and images.
- EPA: Microbiological and Chemical Exposure Assessment
This website provides information about microbiology, how microorganisms are detected in the water and other information related to the microbiological exposure.
- Microbial Life
This website provides information about microbial life in extreme and marine environments. It also provides information on other microbial topics.
- The Concept of the Ecosystem
This is a web document by the University of Michigan. It provides information about ecosystems, what they are, their components, processes, the transformation of energy, biogeochemistry, and the geography of ecosystems. The website also provides a review of the main concepts and a self-test.
- Learn Genetics: The University of Utah
This website provides an interactive way to learn more about genetics. On this website you can learn about DNA, protein synthesis, heredity, cells, genetic technology, genetic health, and epigenetics. The website also provides virtual labs and other virtual learning activities.