Last Updated: Jul 8, 2013
- ArchNet Resources for Archeology
Offers information on regions, schools, and museums with numerous links to additional sites. Also provides links to information by archeology topics.
- Virtual Library of Anthropology/Archeology
Has links to many useful sites, organizations and publications. You can take a look at archeology topics by regions, institutions, or just search through the available archeology topics. The website has a Google search box of which you can search the website.
- Archaeology Magazines
This website provides archeological information on a wide variety of topics from the Archaeology magazine. You can search the articles by keyword or you can look through the issues for articles of interest.
- The Archaeology Channel
This website provides videos, audio, news, and events about different topics in archeology.
- Cultural Survival
This is an international organization dedicated to upholding the rights of indigenous peoples of the world. It publishes the journal, Cultural Survival Quarterly which is available on the web site.
- A World of Cultures
This website provides information on different countries and their cultures. The site pulls information from different websites and encyclopedias. You can browse through the different countries that the site covers by clicking on the continent/area link (North America, the Caribbean, South America, Europe, the Middle-East, Africa, Asia, Oceania and Australia).
This website provides information on different countries and the etiquette used when visiting them. It also provides information on travel advisories, electricity standards, television standards, telephone codes and standards, driving orientation (left or right side), major world airlines, international schools, and world universities. Under the tab “new diplomat” there are language resources.
- Native American Sites
This site provides access to native organizations, businesses, media, music and culture, tribal colleges, and native studies programs and more.
- U.W. Digital Collections: American Indians of the Pacific Northwest
This website provides information and images on the Native Americans of the Pacific Northwest. You can find information on their arts, dwellings, education, potlatches, transportation, treaties, work, and other subjects. The collection is searchable by keyword.
- Library of Congress: The North American Indian: Photographic Images
This website provides photographs on different Native American tribes. The site has the tribes separated by region they are associated with. You can also just scroll down and search for the name of a tribe or you can look through geographic locations.
- Smithsonian: Forensic Anthropology
This website provides information on forensic anthropology and information about bones. It also has information on the 17th century Cheapspeak settlers and the forensic anthropology that is going into recovering physical records of them.
- Forensic Science
This website provides information about forensic anthropology, finding the identity of a person using forensics, and many other topics on forensics.
image from iStockphoto
This website is provided by the University of Texas at Austin. This eSkeletons is a very interactive website. It provides photographs of different types skeletons of monkeys, gorillas, orangutans, and other similar creatures and provides a place to compare their skeletons to a human skeleton.
- Darwin Online
This website provides information on Darwin and his publications. Many of his publications are available to view and read online by text, image or PDF files. Many of the publications are available in different languages as well. You can search through the publications, manuscripts, biography, and media headings, or you can use the search bar or advanced search link to search the website for something specific.
- What does it mean to be human?
This site is provided by the Smithsonian National Museum of Natural History. It provides information on human evolution research, human evolution evidence, human characteristics, education, about the exhibit, multimedia, and information about them. You can also look at human origins news, answer the question “What does it mean to be human?” and look at other peoples’ answers.
- Women’s News
This website provides news articles on different topics in women’s studies. You can find articles from around the world. The site is searchable by keywords, or you can search through the articles by topic.
- Women & Gender Studies Web Sites
This website provides information on women and gender studies. It provides links to other sites on art, business, culture (mostly literature), education, film, health, history, international, lesbian, music, philosophy, politics, science and technology, and theology.
- Women’s Studies Database
This site provides all kinds of information about gender issues, employment, government & history, film reviews, and other women’s studies information.
- Critical Multicultural Pavilion
This website provides trainings, resources, awareness activities, equity & diversity quizzes, handouts, social justice speeches, songs & quotations, and links to other multicultural websites.