- Environmental Protection Agency
Topics on this site are searchable by state, topic, or by where you live (address, zip code, city, or name of place). The EPA cover topic on: air, climate change, emergencies, green living, health and safety, land cleanup, pesticides, chemicals, toxins, wastes, and water. The website also provides information about the science & technology that the EPA uses to conduct their research. You can also find information on laws, regulations, and what the EPA itself is about.
- Department of Ecology: WA State
This site Provides information on the water, air, waste, cleanup, toxic hazards and green living in Washington State. It also site provides searchable databases. You can also find information about the laws and rules in Washington State and search for publications and forms by topic.
- National Resources Defense Council (NRDC)
The NRDC is an organization that is a strong advocate for protecting the earth in many different environmental areas. Issue areas they provide information on are: global warming, energy, air, water, oceans, oceans, food & agriculture, wildlands, health, environmental justice, U.S. law & policy, nuclear energy, sustainable communities, recycling, international issues, and transportation.
This website is of a U.S. organization that aids people with various issues, environment & global climate change is one of the areas they help with. You can look at issues by the places they do work at, by issue. There is also an interactive map at the bottom of the first page that shows the different environment and global climate change projects that they are doing around the world currently. The website also provides results & data of projects, and news related to the topics and the organization.
- Sightline Institute
“Sightline Institute is an independent, nonprofit research and communications center” that deals with information about the environment in the Pacific Northwest. The site provides maps, news and information on topics like climate, energy, economy, jobs, environment, food, sustainable living, land use, & transportation. You can also look at information by region (British Columbia, Oregon, & Washington).
- Center for Biological Diversity
This website is provides information about the CBD, about becoming an activist, programs, species, news, publications, and how you can support the CBD. The programs that the CBD provides information on are: endangered species, Climate Law Institute, International biodiversity, oceans, public lands, and urban wildlands. The site also provides a campaign directory that lists out different endangered species, Climate Law Institute, international biodiversity, ocean, urban wildlands, wildlands, and human population growth topics.
- City of Tacoma Sustainability
This site provides information on sustainability topics in Tacoma, Washington. Topics include what you can do (as individuals or businesses), what Tacoma is doing, Climate Action Plan history, Wapato Lake Sustainability Project, and Tacoma sustainability topics in the news.
- Pierce County Sustainability
This website provides links to other Pierce County, Washington State, University of Washington, and a couple national sustainability websites.
- National Science Foundation: Earth & Environmental Discoveries
This website provides articles on earth and environmental discoveries that are supported by the NSF. The website also provides information on Arctic and Antarctic discoveries. There is a search bar at the top of the page in which you can search the NSF page for a certain topic.
- Washington State Department of Health: Community & Environment
This website provides information on various topics about the environment and how they are related to the health of the community of Washington State. These topics include: air quality, contaminants, drinking water, food, pests, radiation, schools, shellfish, wastewater management, and water recreation. This website is also searchable by topic or by keyword through the search box.