Last Updated: Jun 29, 2017
Reference materials help you find background information on a topic, and are a great place to begin your research.
- CQ Researcher
In-depth, non-biased coverage of political and social issues,including health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
- Gale Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Features pro and con viewpoint articles, periodical articles, primary source documents, statistics, and multimedia.
- Issues: Understanding Controversy and Society
This reference database provides in-depth understanding of how society shapes and is shaped by controversy, providing authoritative historical context, expert perspectives, and carefully selected primary and secondary sources on 200 of today's most important issues.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
More than 90,000 reference articles from subject-specific encyclopedias across all major disciplines.
- How do I use the Gale Virtual Reference Library?
Books for many English compisition classes are about social issues, and will have call numbers that begin with HN, HQ, HS, HT, HV and HX. This video will help you find books on the shelves that are organized by the Library of Congress classification system.
These databases help you find articles from newspapers, magazines, professional and trade publications, and scholarly journals.
- ProQuest Research Library
This database includes more than 4,730 titles - over 3,315 in full text - from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers from a wide range of popular academic subjects.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a digital archive of hundreds of academic journals and other scholarly content.
This current events database allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today's classrooms including controversial opinions and viewpoints.
- Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- How do I find articles using library databases?
- View a complete list of databases
Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!
- Internet Public Library
This collection of websites, selected by librarians, covers all subjects.
ProCon.org is a 501(c)(3) nonprofit public charity that has no government affiliations of any kind. Our purpose is to provide resources for critical thinking and to educate without bias. We do not express opinions on our research projects ("issue websites").
- How do I evaluate websites?
image from iStockphoto
These guides are designed for a specific course.
These links provide information to important questions.
- In Person
Fort Steilacoom reference desk: 8am-8pm M-Th, 8am-2pm Fri
Puyallup reference desk: 8am-9pm M-Th; 8am-2pm Fri
- By Phone
Fort Steilacoom: 253-964-6555
- Chat with a Librarian
Using our instant messaging service, 24/7!
- By email
Receive a response within one business day during normal business hours.