This is the "Home" page of the "Criminal Justice Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Criminal Justice Research Guide  

Last Updated: Oct 24, 2016 URL: http://libguides.pierce.ctc.edu/cj Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Reference

Reference materials help you find background information on a topic, and are a great place to begin your research.

Books & Videos

Books about criminal justice will have call numbers that begin with HV and KF. This video will help you find books on the shelves that are organized by the Library of Congress classification system.

Articles

These databases help you find articles from newspapers, magazines, professional and trade publications, and scholarly journals.

  • ProQuest Research Library: Social Sciences
    This subset of the ProQuest Research Library covers sociology, psychology, communications, political science, linguistics, criminology, and education.
  • Legal Collection
    Offers information centered on the discipline of law and legal topics such as criminal justice, international law, federal law, organized crime, medical, labor & human resource law, ethics, the environment and more from more than 300 scholarly law journals.
  • JSTOR Arts & Sciences
    JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a digital archive of hundreds of academic journals and other scholarly content.
  • Academic Search Complete
    Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
  • Google Scholar
    Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
  • NELLCO Legal Scholarship Repository
    This legal digital repository will help you find open access law journals which give legal analysis of laws and court cases
  • American Bar Association Law Review and Journal Search
    This legal digital repository will help you find open access law journals which give legal analysis of laws and court cases
  • Berkeley Law Scholarship Repository
    This legal digital repository will help you find open access law journals which give legal analysis of laws and court cases
  • How do I find articles using library databases?  Icon
  • View a complete list of databases

Websites

Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!

 

Prisoner in handcuffs being escorted by law enforcement

image from Microsoft Office images

Get Help

Choose an option below for one-on-one help with a librarian.

  • In Person
    Fort Steilacoom reference desk: 8am-8pm M-Th, 8am-2pm Fri
    Puyallup reference desk: 8am-9pm M-Th; 8am-2pm Fri
  • By Phone
    Fort Steilacoom: 253-964-6555
    Puyallup: 253-840-8302
  • Chat with a Librarian
    Using our instant messaging service, 24/7!
  • By email
    Receive a response within one business day during normal business hours.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip