Last Updated: Oct 24, 2016
Reference materials help you find background information on a topic, and are a great place to begin your research.
Books about business information technology will have call numbers that vary, depending on the application. Use the library catalog to find books. This video will help you find books on the shelves that are organized by the Library of Congress classification system.
These databases help you find articles from newspapers, magazines, professional and trade publications, and scholarly journals.
- ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry
Features in-depth coverage of companies, products, executives, trends, and other topics from business and trade publications.
- Vocational & Career Collection
Provides full-text coverage for more than 330 trade and industry related periodicals.
- Computer Source: Consumer Edition
Features a balance of full-text technical journals and full-text consumer computer titles covering computers, telecommunications, electronics and the Internet.
- Family Health
This database includes articles important general medical journals such as The Lancet, The New England Journal of Medicine, and The Journal of Dentistry as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition
This collection contains 80 consumer health magazines, health-related pamphlets and health reference books on topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, and women's health.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- ProQuest Research Library
This database includes more than 4,730 titles - over 3,315 in full text - from 1971 forward. It features a highly-respected, diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers from a wide range of popular academic subjects.
- How do I find articles using library databases?
- View a complete list of databases
Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!
image from iStockphoto
These guides are designed for a specific course.
These links provide information to important questions.
Choose an option below for one-on-one help with a librarian.
- In Person
Fort Steilacoom reference desk: 8am-8pm M-Th, 8am-2pm Fri
Puyallup reference desk: 8am-9pm M-Th; 8am-2pm Fri
- By Phone
Fort Steilacoom: 253-964-6555
- Chat with a Librarian
Using our instant messaging service, 24/7!
- By email
Receive a response within one business day during normal business hours.