Last Updated: Oct 24, 2016
Reference materials help you find background information on a topic, and are a great place to begin your research.
Reference articles, biographies and media from the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
More than 90,000 reference articles from subject-specific encyclopedias across all major disciplines.
- JAMA Network
JAMA is the most widely circulated medical journal in the world. The Network includes nine specialty journals on the future of medicine.
- Salem Health
Authoritative reference articles covering general medicine, cancer, complementary and alternative medicine, genetics, infectious diseases and conditions, and psychology and mental health.
- How do I use the Gale Virtual Reference Library?
Books about biology will have call numbers that begin with QH, QK, QL, QM, QP and QR. This video will help you find books on the shelves that are organized by the Library of Congress classification system.
These databases help you find articles from newspapers, magazines, professional and trade publications, and scholarly journals.
- Science Full Text Select
Provides 100% full-text access to hundreds of science periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed.
- Science Online
The Science family of journals is published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s oldest and largest general science organization. Online access to Science (1997-current issue) and ScienceNOW.
- ProQuest Research Library: Science & Technology
This subset of the ProQuest Research Library covers agriculture, biology, chemistry, environmental science, materials science, computing and engineering.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- Family Health
This database includes articles important general medical journals such as The Lancet, The New England Journal of Medicine, and The Journal of Dentistry as well as a strong selection of consumer and news magazines.
- Health Source: Consumer Edition
This collection contains 80 consumer health magazines, health-related pamphlets and health reference books on topics such as AIDS, cancer, diabetes, drugs & alcohol, aging, fitness, nutrition & dietetics, children's health, and women's health.
- PubMed Central
A full-text portion of the overall PubMed (Medline) database, an index of articles from over 4,000 journals on health sciences, including medicine, veterinary science, dentistry, and nursing.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a digital archive of hundreds of academic journals and other scholarly content.
- Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- Public Library of Science (PLoS)
This open-access online only journal from the Public Library of Science publishes peer-reviewed articles in science and medicine. Freely available on the web.
- How do I find articles using library databases?
- View a complete list of databases
Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!
- Internet Public Library: Life Sciences
This collection of websites, selected by librarians, covers biochemistry, biomedicine, biotechnology, cell biology, genetics, marine biology, microbiology, molecular biology, plant biology (botany) and zoology.
- Internet Public Library: Anatomy and Physiology
This collection of websites, selected by librarians, covers anatomy and physiology.
- Anatomy Atlases
This website provides detailed and up close pictures of anatomy from bones, ligaments, muscles, vessels, arteries, veins, the brain, nerves and more. You can search the website by keyword by clicking on the “Search” link under the website’s header.
This website provides interactive pictures of human anatomy and the different systems of the body. You browse through by system, popular body regions, or you can use the search box and look for something in specific.
- Animal Diversity Web
This site provides in depth information on animal. The entries may include text, pictures of living animals, photographs and movies of specimens, and/or recordings of sounds. You can browse animals by taxonomy or you can search by using the common name in the search box on the right side of the page.
- Click Here!
For more biology websites.
- How do I evaluate websites?
image from istockphoto
These guides are designed for a specific course.
These links provide information to important questions.
Choose an option below for one-on-one help with a librarian.
- In Person
Fort Steilacoom reference desk: 8am-8pm M-Th, 8am-2pm Fri
Puyallup reference desk: 8am-9pm M-Th; 8am-2pm Fri
- By Phone
Fort Steilacoom: 253-964-6555
- Chat with a Librarian
Using our instant messaging service, 24/7!
- By email
Receive a response within one business day during normal business hours.