Last Updated: Oct 24, 2016
Reference materials help you find background information on a topic, and are a great place to begin your research.
Books about atmospheric science will have call numbers that begin with QC. This video will help you find books on the shelves that are organized by the Library of Congress classification system.
These databases help you find articles from newspapers, magazines, professional and trade publications, and scholarly journals.
- Science Full Text Select
Provides 100% full-text access to hundreds of science periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed.
- Science Online
The Science family of journals is published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s oldest and largest general science organization. Online access to Science (1997-current issue) and ScienceNOW.
- ProQuest Research Library: Science & Technology
This subset of the ProQuest Research Library covers agriculture, biology, chemistry, environmental science, materials science, computing and engineering.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- Public Library of Science (PLoS)
This open-access online only journal from the Public Library of Science publishes peer-reviewed articles in science and medicine. Freely available on the web.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a digital archive of hundreds of academic journals and other scholarly content.
- How do I find articles using library databases?
- View a complete list of databases
Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!
- Internet Public Library: Meteorology & Climatology
This collection of websites, selected by librarians, covers meteorology and climatology.
- National Weather Service
This site is a part of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). It provides information on the current and past weather in the United States. It also provides forecast and information on rainfall, air quality and active alerts. It provides a satellite image of the United States. Local forecasts can be searched by city, street, or zip code.
- National Climate Data Center
This site is a part of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA). It provides climate data on the United States. You can find Satellite, radar, model, weather balloon, and other types of data on climate and weather.
- The Weather Channel
This website provides information on weather forecasts and provides different kinds of maps. One of the maps is the weather in motion map of the United States and a little into Canada. Also provides radar, current weather, and current temperature maps.
- United States Census Bureau: Weather Events and Climate
This website provides data on weather events and climate in select cities in the U.S. Some of the topics include hurricanes, tornadoes, flood, lightning, tropical storms, high and low temperatures, weather disasters, temperature records, cloudiness, wind speed, heating and cooling degree days, and average relative humidity.
- World Data Center for Meteorology, Asheville (WDCM)
This site provides international data on climate and weather. The site has a historical data archives of which you can find data on different places. You can find data on Africa, Asia, South America, North America, Central America, Caribbean, Pacific, Europe, and Antarctica. You can search the website with the search box.
- US Climate Data
This website provides data on average temperature and precipitation by state and city. The website also provides graphs of the data. The site also provides data for each city by month and annually. At the bottom of the page you can also search for climate data from Europe or Africa too by clicking on the World Climate link at the bottom of the page.
- Climates of the World
Worldwide temperatures and precipitation are illustrated by maps. Monthly and annual temperatures and precipitation, including extreme temperatures, are presented in tabular form for approximately 800 stations throughout the world.
- How do I evaluate websites?
image from istockphoto
These guides are designed for a specific course.
These links provide information to important questions.
Choose an option below for one-on-one help with a librarian.
- In Person
Fort Steilacoom reference desk: 8am-8pm M-Th, 8am-2pm Fri
Puyallup reference desk: 8am-9pm M-Th; 8am-2pm Fri
- By Phone
Fort Steilacoom: 253-964-6555
- Chat with a Librarian
Using our instant messaging service, 24/7!
- By email
Receive a response within one business day during normal business hours.