Last Updated: Oct 24, 2016
Reference materials help you find background information on a topic, and are a great place to begin your research.
Books about astronomy will have call numbers that begin with QB. This video will help you find books on the shelves that are organized by the Library of Congress classification system.
These databases help you find articles from newspapers, magazines, professional and trade publications, and scholarly journals.
- Science Full Text Select
Provides 100% full-text access to hundreds of science periodicals, many of which are peer-reviewed.
- Science Online
The Science family of journals is published by the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s oldest and largest general science organization. Online access to Science (1997-current issue) and ScienceNOW.
- ProQuest Research Library: Science & Technology
This subset of the ProQuest Research Library covers agriculture, biology, chemistry, environmental science, materials science, computing and engineering.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- Public Library of Science (PLoS)
This open-access online only journal from the Public Library of Science publishes peer-reviewed articles in science and medicine. Freely available on the web.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a digital archive of hundreds of academic journals and other scholarly content.
- How do I find articles using library databases?
- View a complete list of databases
Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!
- Internet Public Library: Astronomy
This collection of websites, selected by librarians, covers astrophysics, the solar system, space flight and exploration, stargazing, and stellar and galactic astronomy.
- How do I evaluate websites?
This site is the website for the Astronomy magazine. It provides astronomy news, star atlas, and other astronomy related information. Some of the content on the site is for subscribers only, but there is a good portion of information available to non-subscribers.
- Science Daily
This site provides astronomy news, articles, videos, images, and books. Topics covered are astronomy, cosmology, the solar system, and space exploration. Check out the ‘Space & Time’ section for more astronomy related topics.
- Sky & Telescope
This site provides astronomy news, observation news, equipment news, and photos. Some of the articles are for subscribers only, but a large portion can be viewed by non-subscribers.
- National Science Foundation: Astronomical Science News
This site provides news articles on the astronomical sciences that the NSF supports. You can browse through the articles or you can ‘Search News’ for a specific topic.
- NASA Science
This site, provided by NASA, provides information on heliophysics, planets, and astrophysics. Each topic area talks about the big questions they have, their focus area, and the missions that have been and are planned for that area.
- Science 360
This site provides news on the astronomy & space. You can browse through articles or you can search for articles by topic.
- Jet Propulsion Laboratory
This site is part of NASA. It provides information on the earth, solar system, stars & galaxies, and science & technology in the astronomy field. You can take a look at news, missions, images, video and audio. In each section, you can search for a specific topic.
image from istockphoto
These guides are designed for a specific course.
These links provide information to important questions.
Choose an option below for one-on-one help with a librarian.
- In Person
Fort Steilacoom reference desk: 8am-8pm M-Th, 8am-2pm Fri
Puyallup reference desk: 8am-9pm M-Th; 8am-2pm Fri
- By Phone
Fort Steilacoom: 253-964-6555
- Chat with a Librarian
Using our instant messaging service, 24/7!
- By email
Receive a response within one business day during normal business hours.