Last Updated: Oct 24, 2016
Reference materials help you find background information on a topic, and are a great place to begin your research.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
More than 90,000 reference articles from subject-specific encyclopedias across all major disciplines.
- Daily Life through History
This reference database is a cross-disciplinary resource for researching historical topics such as American food and cooking, celebrations, clothes, romance, work, religion, housing, language, and social customs.
- African American Experience
This reference database covers the experiences of African Americans from their arrival in the Americas through to the present day, including history, biographies, literature, arts, music, popular culture, folklore, business, slavery, the struggle for civil rights, politics, sports, education, science, and other themes with overview essays on a variety of topics and peer-reviewed essays about complex questions.
- American Indian Experience
This reference database provides in-depth historical accounts and cultural information about the indigenous peoples of North America with overview essays on a variety of topics and peer-reviewed essays about complex questions.
- Latino American Experience
This reference database explores the rich heritage and current culture of Mexicans, Puerto Ricans, Guatemalans, Cubans, Dominicans, Colombians, Ecuadorians, and other Hispanic cultures in the United States with overview essays on a variety of topics and peer-reviewed essays about complex questions.
- World Geography: Understanding a Changing World
This reference database provides essential knowledge of the geographical, political, social, economic, and cultural forces that are increasingly important in our globalized world with overviews of each nation and the ability to make demographic comparisons between countries.
Cultural reports for more than 200 countries, including categories such as land and climate, history, economy, education, health, and events and trends.
- How do I use the Gale Virtual Reference Library?
Books about anthropology will have call numbers that begin with GN, GR and GT. Books about indigenous cultures will begin with E or F. This video will help you find books on the shelves that are organized by the Library of Congress classification system.
These databases help you find articles from newspapers, magazines, professional and trade publications, and scholarly journals.
- Academic Search Complete
Academic Search Complete is a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals.
- American Anthropologist
Published on behalf of the American Anthropological Association.
- JSTOR Arts & Sciences
JSTOR is a not-for-profit service that helps scholars, researchers, and students discover, use, and build upon a wide range of content in a digital archive of hundreds of academic journals and other scholarly content.
- ProQuest Research Library: Social Sciences
This subset of the ProQuest Research Library covers sociology, psychology, communications, political science, linguistics, criminology, and education.
- Ethnic NewsWatch [Current]
Articles from national and local magazines and newspapers from ethnic communities across the U.S.
- Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection
This comprehensive database covers information concerning topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry & psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational & experimental methods.
- Google Scholar
Search for scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.
- How do I find articles using library databases?
- View a complete list of databases
Websites need to be evaluated to make sure that they are academically appropriate. Proceed with caution!
image from iStockphoto
These guides are designed for a specific course.
These links provide information to important questions.
Choose an option below for one-on-one help with a librarian.
- In Person
Fort Steilacoom reference desk: 8am-8pm M-Th, 8am-2pm Fri
Puyallup reference desk: 8am-9pm M-Th; 8am-2pm Fri
- By Phone
Fort Steilacoom: 253-964-6555
- Chat with a Librarian
Using our instant messaging service, 24/7!
- By email
Receive a response within one business day during normal business hours.